Marc Schuster:

Re-posting a short piece on the small press experience that is currently up on Blue Lit…

Originally posted on Blue Lit:

I’ve been very fortunate to have several books published by small presses. My first experience working with a small press was with McFarland Publishing, a company based in North Carolina that publishes academic nonfiction with a focus on popular culture. They published the book I wrote with Tom Powers on Doctor Who. Shortly thereafter, another publisher of scholarly texts called Cambria published my book on Don DeLillo.

While I was certainly excited to have both of these books published, my real passion has always been writing fiction, so I was especially pleased when PS Books and then The Permanent Press published my first novel, The Singular Exploits of Wonder Mom and Party Girl. I’m even more pleased to report that The Permanent Press has just published my second novel, The Grievers.

For the most part, my experience with small presses has been extremely positive, but I also know…

View original 613 more words

Leave a Reply

