I was on my way home from work today when I saw a dog hanging around at a busy intersection with no collar or owner. So I pulled over just as the dog was starting to cross the street. I got out of my car and whistled at the dog, and it came over to see what I wanted with an expression that said I’ll follow you anywhere if you have a hotdog, but if not, I’m not interested. But I didn’t have a hotdog, as I haven’t really been eat meat lately, so the dog ran away from me and started running toward someone’s house and hung out on the porch for a bit. Assuming it was the dog’s house (to the extent that a dog can own a house), I knocked on the door while the dog ran in circles around me and barked wildly. Eventually, a guy with a reddish beard came to the door seeming kind of annoyed that I interrupted whatever he was doing, and he yelled at the dog to get inside. I said something like, “Hi there! I saw your dog running around out here, so I figured…” And he said, “Yeah, I don’t know how she got out.” And I said, “Well, anyway, I live down the block and thought, wow, I’d hate it if my dog ran off, so I figured, hey, better pull over, right?” And the guy looked at me like I was insane, so I said, “Long story short, I’m glad your dog’s okay, and I hope you’re having a great day!”

But by then he’d already closed the door.

